Restriction: The Lock Group feature is available only in Premium and Enterprise groups.
Location in desktop browser: Left menu > Admin > Preferences > Notices
Location on mobile device: Bottom of page > More > Admin > Preferences > Notices
The Locked Group notice can be sent automatically when the group has been locked but someone sends an email to it. To be sent automatically, the notice must be the active notice (set to Active Message). If no Locked Group notice is set to Active Message, none will be sent.
Note: Groups.io automatically locks any subgroups that were created in:
- A Free group that was created after January 15, 2020 at 9:00 a.m. U.S. Pacific Time, then upgraded to Premium, then later downgraded back to Free
- A trial Premium group that is downgraded to a Free group
Those subgroups are locked until the Free group is upgraded again.
Related help topic
More Options
More
Introduction to Groups.io for group owners
Creating a group
Promoting your group
Group aliases
Renaming a group
Customizing group settings
Setting membership defaults
Changing the group's cover photo and icon
Managing group and member notices
Managing members
Managing owners and moderators
Managing topics and messages
Managing hashtags
Activity log
Analytics dashboard
Notifications about group activity
Storage space
Integrations
Subgroups
Donations and sponsorships
Sticking topics and wiki pages to the top of the Topics page
Locking and unlocking groups and subgroups
Banning or unbanning domains
GitHub support in Groups.io
Upgrading or downgrading groups
Groups.io billing
Exporting or downloading your group’s data
Deleting a group or subgroup
Enterprise group features
Terms