Restriction: This feature is available only in Premium and Enterprise groups.
Premium and Enterprise groups can lock their group, as well as any subgroups, which preserves the archive on Groups.io but prevents members from posting messages to it or making changes to any other group content such as files, photos, and databases.
To lock a group or subgroup:
- Desktop browser: In the left menu on the group’s website, select Admin > Preferences > Settings.
Mobile device: At the bottom of a group page, tap the More icon, then select Admin > Preferences > Settings on the More menu. - Scroll to the bottom of the Settings page and click or tap the Lock Group button.
- When the Verify Lock confirmation popup appears, click or tap Yes.
If you decide to unlock the group or subgroup:
- Desktop browser: In the left menu on the group’s website, select Admin > Preferences > Settings.
Mobile device: At the bottom of a group page, tap the More icon, then select Admin > Preferences > Settings on the More menu. - On the Settings page, click or tap the Unlock Group button.
- When the Verify Unlock confirmation popup appears, click or tap Yes.
Note: Groups.io automatically locks any subgroups that were created in:
- A Free group that was created after January 15, 2020 at 9:00 a.m. U.S. Pacific Time, then upgraded to Premium, then later downgraded back to Free
- A trial Premium group that is downgraded to a Free group
Those subgroups are locked until the Free group is upgraded again.
More Options
More
Introduction to Groups.io for group owners
Creating a group
Promoting your group
Group aliases
Renaming a group
Customizing group settings
Setting membership defaults
Changing the group's cover photo and icon
Managing group and member notices
Managing members
Managing owners and moderators
Managing topics and messages
Managing hashtags
Activity log
Analytics dashboard
Notifications about group activity
Storage space
Integrations
Subgroups
Donations and sponsorships
Sticking topics and wiki pages to the top of the Topics page
Locking and unlocking groups and subgroups
Banning or unbanning domains
GitHub support in Groups.io
Upgrading or downgrading groups
Groups.io billing
Exporting or downloading your group’s data
Deleting a group or subgroup
Enterprise group features
Terms