Re: Security TAG co-chair nominations

Magno Logan <magno.logan@...>

+1 NB

Brandon is a great meeting facilitator as well as a tech lead, it has been a pleasure working with him on the CNSMap and also on the translation of the CNSWP to pt-BR, in which he has been very supportive. He is always friendly and approachable and I really think he is a great candidate for this co-chair position.

Aradhna is a frequent member of our weekly meetings always bringing different ideas and projects for discussion. Her involvement in CSA and NIST is also very beneficial for this group. I'm looking forward to working more with her on the Serverless Security Whitepaper and really think she is a great candidate for this co-chair position.
Best Regards,

Magno Logan

On Sat, May 29, 2021 at 1:59 PM Emily Fox <themoxiefoxatwork@...> wrote:
+1 NB

Brandon has had a significant impact over the length of his involvement within the TAG.  Between his dedication to the governance and smooth operation of TAG and his depth of core security knowledge his contributions have helped make the TAG what it is today.

Aradhna is newer to the TAG and brings with her a broad array of expertise from the larger Cybersecurity community.  Her ideas and engagement with TAG and across CNCF working groups brings the entire community closer.

- Emily Fox

@TheMoxieFox (personal handle)

On Sat, 29 May 2021, 12:37 Jeyappragash Jeyakeerthi, <jj@...> wrote:
+1 nb
It has been fantastic working with Brandon on assessments and Aradhana on whitepapers over their involvement in Security TAG. They have both been phenomenal in cross pollination between different security initiatives/groups and Security TAG. It was an honor to serve them as a co-chair and I am incredibly excited to see them now perform the role to help others in the group create the outcomes and success. 

On Sat, May 29, 2021 at 9:30 PM Sarah Allen <sarah@...> wrote:

Dear Technical Oversight Committee,

On June 3, 2021, the term for two of the three current Security TAG co-chairs, Sarah Allen (@ultrasaurus) and Jeyappragash JJ (@pragashj) comes to an end. 

The TOC election process requires nomination from TOC and then ⅔ vote.  We have also followed the Security TAG governance process for proposing candidates, since we have clear successors who are already working within the group. The candidates below have unanimous support from our TOC liaisons, as well as the three current co-chairs.

We believe that Aradhna Chetal and Brandon Lum, along with current chair Emily Fox, will enable “full coverage of the leadership capabilities across the key qualities of industry experience, hands-on cloud-native and security experience, as well as administrative experience needed to run a Security TAG.”  While both currently serve as Tech Leads for the group (as did Emily before she became chair), we do not consider that a prerequisite for the chair position.

Aradhna Chetal 

Senior Director Exec, Cloud Security, TIAA

Research Fellow Cloud Security Alliance 

TAG Contributions

  • Tech Lead, Meeting Facilitator

  • Active in Policy team subgroup

  • Initiated serverless security whitepaper - Issue#546

  • Cloud Native Securty Whitepaper - refined scope, created first draft and worked on reviews and completion

External community involvement 

Active member of Cloud Security Alliance (CSA),  has been an advisor to the board - CSA Seattle Chapter,  CSA and NIST Cloud computing workgroups, has influenced best practices & standards for cloud, containers, serverless & microservices security

Brandon Lum

container security, IBM Research 

TAG Contributions

  • Tech Lead, Meeting Facilitator 

  • Repo Triage and Issue Management

  • Process Improvements & governance 

  • Leading Cloud Native Security Map/Landscape - Issue#348

  • Security Reviews - process improvements and initial assessments PR#247

  • Presented SIG-Security session China June 2019, San Diego Nov 2019

  • Organized in-person meetup DockerCon, May 2019 issue#151

External community involvement 

SPIFFE/SPIRE community & contributing to SPIFFE book

Please reply to this email to vote.  As always, the CNCF encourages non-binding votes from the community, along with the required votes of TOC members.

Thank you,

Sarah, in collaboration with other Security TAG co-chairs (Emily and JJ) and TOC Liaisons Liz Rice & Justin Cormack

Join to automatically receive all group messages.