Re: [VOTE] OpenTracing Project Proposal


Solomon Hykes
 

Yes.

On Mon, Sep 26, 2016 at 8:48 AM, Chris Aniszczyk via cncf-toc
<cncf-toc@...> wrote:
The OpenTracing (http://opentracing.io/) team has iterated on their project
proposal to a final one which is ready for voting by TOC members:
https://github.com/cncf/toc/pull/15

So please vote! The proposal is also embedded below for your convenience:

OpenTracing Proposal

Name of project: OpenTracing

Description: A set of consistent, expressive, vendor-neutral APIs for
distributed tracing and context propagation, seeslides for the content we
presented to the CNCF TOC.

Sponsor / Advisor from TOC: Bryan Cantrill <bryan@...>

Unique Identifier: opentracing

License: Apache License v2.0

Source control repositories:

https://github.com/opentracing

https://github.com/opentracing-contrib

Initial Committers:

Ben Sigelman (@bensigelman)

Yuri Shkuro (@yurishkuro)

see the Contributors section for more information

Infrastructure requirements: CI and potentially CNCF Community Cluster
access

Issue tracker: global -
https://github.com/opentracing/opentracing.github.io/issues and per-platform
issues are raised on the per-platform repository’s issues area

Mailing lists

Active: https://gitter.im/opentracing/public

Placeholder: https://groups.google.com/forum/#!forum/opentracing

Related: https://groups.google.com/forum/#!forum/distributed-tracing

Website: http://opentracing.io

Release methodology and mechanics: Various across platforms

Social media accounts: Twitter: @opentracing

Existing sponsorship: Nothing formal; LightStep occasionally spends small
amounts of money (hosting events, etc) on behalf of OpenTracing tech talks
and so forth.

External Dependencies

Really very little. The core OpenTracing libraries are facade APIs and thus
only bring in dependencies that are needed to describe various function
parameters and return values. In some cases there are test harnesses that
bring in ubiquitous testing packages. OpenTracing is willing to go through
and formally enumerate all of these dependencies, but suffice to say there’s
nothing interesting to see and everything is permissively licensed.

Statement on alignment with CNCF mission:

OpenTracing is an open API standard for distributed tracing in applications
and OSS packages. Developers with experience building microservices at scale
understand the role and importance of distributed tracing: per-process
logging and metric monitoring have their place, but neither can reconstruct
the elaborate journeys that transactions take as they propagate across a
distributed system. Distributed traces are these journeys.

So if distributed tracing is so valuable, why doesn’t everyone do it
already? Because tracing instrumentation has been fragmented, syntactically
inconsistent, and thus excessively expensive to deploy end-to-end across
most cloud-native stacks.

Distributed tracing is challenging because the instrumentation must
propagate the tracing context both within and between processes.
Accomplishing this involves many distinct pieces in a (micro-)service stack.
In particular, tracing context must be passed through:

Self-contained OSS services (e.g., NGINX, Cassandra, Redis, etc)

OSS packages linked into custom services (e.g., grpc, ORMs, etc)

Arbitrary application glue and business logic built around the above

And there’s the rub: It is not reasonable to ask all OSS services and all
OSS packages and all application-specific code to use a single tracing
vendor; yet, if they don’t share a mechanism for trace description and
propagation, the causal chain is broken and the traces are truncated, often
to the point of uselessness. We need a single, standard mechanism to
describe the behavior of our systems. OpenTracing is that single, standard
mechanism.

Regarding CNCF’s charter mission, OpenTracing is specifically concerned with
making loosely-coupled [micro]services easier to manage. As such, it is
strongly aligned with CNCF and its goal to “significantly increase the
overall agility and maintainability of applications” by “[making] technology
ubiquitous and easily available through reliable interfaces.” Indeed,
OpenTracing and CNCF as a whole mutually benefit one another. (It should be
noted that, as it is focused on standard instrumentation more than standard
encoding formats, OpenTracing today is most relevant at the application
layer; it has few specific opinions about — or strong dependencies on — the
container layer or orchestration systems more generally, though service
discovery and high-quality tracing are symbiotic.)

See also: the OpenTracing raison d’être on Medium

Other Contributors:

OpenTracing Semantics Repo (formally the opentracing.github.io docs repo)

Ben Sigelman (bensigelman) LightStep

Yuri Shkuro (yurishkuro) Uber

Dan Kuebrich (dkuebric) AppNeta

Ben Cronin (bcronin) LightStep

Priyanka Sharma (pritianka) LightStep

Dimitrios Kouzis-Loukas (lookfwd) Bloomberg

Mck (michaelsembwever) Apache

Ivan Fraixedes (ifraixedes)

Github issue/discussion participation:

Rodrigo Fonseca (rfonseca) Brown University

Colin Patrick McCabe (cmccabe) Cloudera

Cagatay Kavukcuoglu (tinkerware) Base60Labs

Benjamin Eberlei (beberlei) Qafoo

Władysław Bodzek (wladekb)

Bogdan Drutu (bogdandrutu) Google

Grayson Koonce (breerly) Uber

Marcin Grzejszczak (marcingrzejszczak) Zipkin

Fabian Lange (CodingFabian) Instana

Paul Caporn (drpacman) BBC

https://github.com/opentracing/opentracing-go

Ben Sigelman (bensigelman) LightStep

Tobias Schottdorf (tschottdorf) Cockroach Labs

Yuri Shkuro (yurishkuro) Uber

Brandon Gonzales (bg451) Student

Josh MacDonald (jmacd)

Bas van Beek (basvanbeek)

Stephen Gutekanst (slimsag) Sourcegraph

Richard Scothern (RichardScothern) Docker

Tamir Duberstein (tamird) Cockroach Labs

Kris Kowal (kriskowal) (I think Uber)

Aleksey (IncSW)

Kyle Conroy (kyleconroy) Stripe

Blake Mizerany (bmizerany) Life360

Sebastián Vera (sebastianvera)

https://github.com/opentracing/opentracing-javascript

Ben Cronin (bcronin) LightStep

Ben Sigelman (bensigelman) LightStep

Onwukike Ibe (oike) Uber

Alexander Sorokin (syrnick)

Yuri Shkuro (yurishkuro) Uber

https://github.com/opentracing/opentracing-python

Yuri Shkuro (yurishkuro) Uber

Ben Sigelman (bensigelman) LightStep

Brandon Gonzales (bg451)

Dan Kuebrich (dkuebric) AppNeta

https://github.com/opentracing/opentracing-java

Ben Sigelman (bensigelman) LightStep

Adrian Cole (adriancole) Pivotal / Zipkin

Mck (michaelsembwever) Apache / Cassandra

Onwukike Ibe (oike) Uber

Yuri Shkuro (yurishkuro) Uber

Mohamed Ezzat (m-ezzat)

https://github.com/opentracing/opentracing-csharp

Christian Weiss (cwe1ss) Consultant

Daniel Wallin (dawallin) Frontwalker

Ben Sigelman (bensigelman)

https://github.com/opentracing/opentracing-objc

Ben Sigelman (bensigelman) LightStep

https://github.com/opentracing/opentracing-cpp

Josh MacDonald (jmacd) LightStep

Dimitrios Kouzis-Loukas (lookfwd) Bloomberg

Ben Sigelman (bensigelman) LightStep



--
Chris Aniszczyk (@cra) | +1-512-961-6719

_______________________________________________
cncf-toc mailing list
cncf-toc@...
https://lists.cncf.io/mailman/listinfo/cncf-toc

Join cncf-toc@lists.cncf.io to automatically receive all group messages.